Department of Agriculture.—Four fixed stations are operated by the Department of Agriculture.

Department of Citizenship and Immigration.—The Indian Affairs Division of the Department has 2 stations.

Department of National Health and Welfare.—This Department operates 4 fixed stations.

Department of National Revenue.—One fixed station is operated by the Excise Division of the Department of National Revenue.

National Research Council.—Three fixed stations, 2 portable and 17 experimental stations are operated by the National Research Council.

Department of Resources and Development.—This Department has 13 fixed stations and 54 portable stations.

Section 3.—The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation*

The history and development of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation is given at pp. 737-740 of the 1947 Year Book.

The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation operates under authority of the Canadian Broadcasting Act, 1936, and is headed by a Board of nine Governors, chosen to give representation to the principal geographic divisions of Canada, and a full-time Chairman. The Board determines and supervises policy, but day-to-day operations and executive direction are the responsibility of the General Manager. The organization of the CBC consists of the following Divisions: Executive, Personnel and Administration, Finance, Engineering, Program, Press and Information, Commercial, Broadcast Regulations, and Station Relations.

Under the Canadian Broadcasting Act, 1936, the CBC is responsible for regulations controlling the establishment and operation of networks, the character of any and all programs broadcast over its own and privately owned stations, the proportion of time that may be devoted to advertising in broadcast programs. The CBC neither exercises, nor authorizes any private station to exercise on its behalf, censorship of any broadcast program. The responsibility of seeing that the regulations are observed rests with the individual station management.

Frequency Modulation.—The development of frequency modulation is given at p. 773 of the 1948-49 Year Book. On Apr. 1, 1950, there were 5 CBC and 31 privately owned frequency modulation stations in operation.

Television.—In April, 1949, the Government of Canada adopted an interim plan for the development of television in Canada that, in accordance with the Canadian Broadcasting Act, 1936, entrusted the general direction of television broadcasting in Canada to the CBC Board of Governors who will arrange for television operations by the Corporation.

During 1949-50, TV channels were assigned to the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation for its proposed television operations at Toronto, Ont., and Montreal, Que. Frequency channels 2 and 5 were allocated to Montreal where the Corporation expects eventually to operate two outlets, one French and one English. The first to be used will be channel 2 operating from 54 to 60 Mc/s. Channel 5 will operate from 76 to 82 Mc/s. Channel 9, to be used at Toronto, will operate from 186 to 192 Mc/s.

Revised by Donald Manson, Assistant General Manager, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, Ottawa.